You know it happens…
You’re sitting on the couch watching Die Hard…
Again…
You’re bored…
You think “I could really go for a snack”…
You look in the cupboards and want to grab that bag of chips…
Then you remember that you got up at 5am to workout…
Or maybe you didn’t…
You know the chips aren’t a healthy choice…
But seriously how many celery sticks can you eat in a day?

This, my dear friends, is a snackcident waiting to happen…

What’s a healthy girl (or boy) to do?

Well, if you’re lucky you’ll have heard of Lesser Evil Snacks and you can prevent this before it begins.

The company’s goal is to make the world a little ‘lesser evil’ by making healthy, great tasting products.  Not to mention that they’re located in my home state of New York and they’re seriously like a family of people who care about their company, their product, their customers, and one another.

Kyser was really cool and sent me some products to try.

Veggie Crinkle Sticks

IMG_0062

Ingredients: Dehydrated Potato, Whole Grain White Corn Flour, Brown Rice Flour, Sunflower Oil, Potato Starch, Yellow Corn Meal, Rice Flour, Whole Oat Flour, Maltodextrin, Salt, Spinach Powder, Barley Flour, Buckwheat Flour, Millet Flour, Quinoa Flour, Broccoli Powder, Cilantro, Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, Annatto Coloring, White Pepper.

First of all, these are seriously good.  I love the light flavor of these and the texture is really airy but not anything I’ve ever tried before.  I love the ingredient list and the fact that for such simple things on it, the product is really unique and delicious.  That picture shows half a serving. I always portion out my snacks (instead of going straight from the bag) and that’s my standard snack ‘bowl’ which is really a small ramekin.  A serving of potato chips, is about 3/4 of the ramekin…. I’d have to fill it twice to get a full serving of these sticks.  Love that, since I’m a volume eater!

Classic Sea Salt Potato Sticks

Ingredients: Potato Stick (Potato Flakes, Potato Granules, Potato Starch, Salt, Annatto Coloring), Sunflower Oil, Maltodextrin, Sea Salt, Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, White Pepper

Once again, I can’t complain about the ingredients! These have a very light flavor, they really taste like potatoes and nothing else.  I love potatoes so this is perfect for me, but if you like bolder flavors I’d suggest using these with one of the other flavors or another less healthy snack option for bulk.

Sour Cream & Onion Potato Stick

Ingredients: Potato Stick (Potato Flakes, Potato Granules, Potato Starch, Salt, Annatto Coloring), Sunflower Oil, Nonfat Milk Powder, Onion Powder, Evaporated Cane Juice, Salt, Natural Butter Flavor, Natural Onion Flavor, Lactic Acid, Dehydrated Parsley

Sour Cream & Onion is my favorite flavor potato chip, hands down.  Hand me any potato product in this flavor and I’m a happy girl.  So, these were definitely an exciting find.  I used to go to town on those potato chips in the canister in this flavor- it was nice to be able to get all that flavor without feeling like I’d ingested a chemical plant.

I also noticed with all the ‘sticks’ that I was satisfied with half a serving.  I know part of that was just the fact that my brain is used to seeing that container as my ‘snack size’ but even so, they are a really hearty satisfying snack regardless.

Classic Kettle Corn

IMG_0052

Ingredients: Evaporated Cane Juice, Brown Rice Syrup, Popcorn, Clarified Butter, Salt, Sunflower Oil, Lecithin(Soy and Sunflower)

Okay, so I hate popcorn.  I mean in theory, I like it because it’s ‘healthy’ and all that but I can’t stand buttery popcorn and could live the rest of my life without it.  Now, kettle corn- that’s another story.  I love that sweet and savory combination.  I was so excited for this because usually kettle corn is either that really bad for you stuff at the fair or that really bad for you stuff with all the chemicals at the supermarket.  As a girl with a major sweet tooth, I was really happy with this.  If you’re someone who doesn’t like sugar much then you might not love this because it’s more sweet then savory.  If I were you, and therefore a normal person who likes popcorn, I’d just pop some regular popcorn and mix it and you’ll be all set.

Black & White Kettle Corn

Ingredients: Evaporated Cane Juice, Brown Rice Syrup, Popcorn, Chocolate Liquor, Clarified Butter, Salt, Natural Chocolate Flavor, Sunflower Oil, Lecithin (Soy and Sunflower)

I’m all about diversity, so chocolate + kettle corn seemed like a really good way to go.  It was.  Oh my, it was.  This is seriously my new favorite snack and that huge bag may or may not be gone, and I may or may not have eaten it by myself without sharing 🙂 Wow, there’s such a good balance between the regular kettle corn and the chocolate version that it’s not overly chocolate-y but it is overly delicious.  So delicious, that I had to put the bag on top of my fridge so that I had to get on a stool to get to it… and yet, it’s still gone, haha.

Mmm I love snacks, as you can probably already tell and I love these in particular!

If you’d like to prevent ”snackidents’ at your house, check these out!