It’s no secret that I love Clifbars, especially those Z bars.  I would happily eat one (or more) of those Apple Cinnamon bars everyday if I could.

My love affair started long before the Z bars, that I distinctly remember discovering at Shaws in Porter Square back when I went to college in that hood, it started with the almighty ClifBar.  My first nanny gig was full of swimming pools and those bars.  The kids were obsessed with the Carrot Cake flavor and therefore their nanny became obsessed as well.

For months, I’ve been looking for the White Chocolate Macadamia version but alas my supermarkets are the last to get everything.  When I mentioned this to Dean over at ClifBar he offered to send me some samples of that flavor and three other new(er) flavors as well!

Blueberry Crisp

Ingredients: Organic Brown Rice Syrup, ClifPro® (Soy Rice Crisps [Soy Protein Isolate, Rice Flour, Barley Malt Extract], Organic Roasted Soybeans, Organic Soy Flour), Organic Rolled Oats, Blueberry Fruit Pieces (Organic Evaporated Cane Juice, Blueberry Puree Concentrate, Brown Rice Syrup, Pectin, Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, Natural Flavor), Organic Toasted Oats (Organic Oats, Organic Evaporated Cane Juice), Organic Dry Roasted Almonds, ClifCrunch® (Organic Oat Fiber, Inulin [Chicory Extract], Organic Milled Flaxseed, Organic Oat Bran, Psyllium), Organic Evaporated Cane Juice, Blueberries (Blueberries, Apple Juice Concentrate), Organic Date Paste, Almond Butter, Organic Sunflower Oil, Natural Flavors, Sea Salt, Citric Acid.

Oh my, this was the best! There were huge pieces of dried blueberries in here that really just made this.  I’m not the world’s biggest blueberry fan, but I think this would convert me.  Sometimes I pick Z bars over ClifBars based solely on the size of the snack, but this has jumped up there with my Apple Cinnamon love even if it means I’ll be breaking a lot of bars in half 🙂

Maple Nut

Ingredients: Organic Brown Rice Syrup, ClifPro® (Soy Rice Crisps [Soy Protein Isolate, Rice Flour, Barley Malt Extract], Organic Roasted Soybeans, Organic Soy Flour), Organic Rolled Oats, Organic Toasted Oats (Organic Oats, Organic Evaporated Cane Juice), Pecan Pralines (Organic Evaporated Cane Juice, Pecans, Salt), Organic Maple Syrup, ClifCrunch® (Organic Oat Fiber, Inulin [Chicory Extract], Organic Milled Flaxseed, Organic Oat Bran, Psyllium),Organic Date Paste, Safflower Oil Roasted Pecans, Natural Flavors, Almond Butter, Organic Sunflower Oil, Sea Salt.

This was also really good.  I loved how the Maple Flavor was present throughout the bar.  It was a little sweet for me though but as a yogurt topping, I could get down with this bar regularly!

Oatmeal Raisin Walnut

Ingredients: Organic Brown Rice Syrup, ClifPro® (Soy Rice Crisps [Soy Protein Isolate, Rice Flour, Malt Extract], Organic Roasted Soybeans, Organic Soy Flour), Organic Rolled Oats, Raisins, Organic Evaporated Cane Juice, Walnuts, ClifCrunch® (Organic Oat Fiber, Inulin [Chicory Extract], Organic Milled Flaxseed, Organic Oat Bran, Psyllium), Organic Soy Butter, Molasses Powder, Natural Flavors, Ground Cinnamon, Sea Salt.

Let me preface this by saying I’m not a big fan of raisins or walnuts (don’t hate me).  I like them both just fine but they are not my favorite ingredients and I can actually walk away from oatmeal raisin cookies without even trying.  This tasted like an oatmeal raisin cookie.  Actually, it tasted like a cross between a cookie and that instant maple and brown sugar oatmeal.  I like both those things but I can “take it or leave it.”  That being said, someone who really likes either of those things will be in heaven with this bar because it really is a good combination of flavors, if that’s what you’re into!

White Chocolate Macadamia

Ingredients: Organic Brown Rice Syrup, ClifPro® (Soy Rice Crisps [Soy Protein Isolate, Rice Flour, Barley Malt Extract], Organic Roasted Soybeans, Organic Soy Flour), Organic Rolled Oats, Soy White Chocolate (Organic Evaporated Cane Juice, Cocoa Butter, Soy Flour, Soy Lecithin, Natural Flavors), Organic Toasted Oats (Organic Oats, Organic Evaporated Cane Juice), Organic Evaporated Cane Juice, ClifCrunch® (Organic Oat Fiber, Inulin [Chicory Extract], Organic Milled Flaxseed, Organic Oat Bran, Psyllium), Macadamia Nuts, Organic Soy Butter, Organic Macadamia Nuts, Organic Date Paste, Natural Flavors, Sea Salt.

I saved this one for last.  I was so glad I did.  This is dessert.  It is not health food.  Okay, I’m lying, it’s both.  This is so good.  My dad loves macadamia nuts and I think he’d love this bar.  The flavor is light and not overpowering.  There’s sweetness but it’s just enough to make it enjoyable but not enough where you don’t want to finish the bar.  They got it right with this one.

There are lots of things I love about ClifBars- like the ingredient lists and the company’s food philosophy.

We recognize that food matters to our families, our communities and our planet- as our food choices affect the physical, social and environmental fabric of our lives.

Yes! Yes! Yes!

There are still reasons why I’ll still buy more Z Bars than the traditional bars and that’s solely my personal ‘snack size’ preference.  I do buy ClifBars for those unpredictable days and always keep them on hand but for everyday snacking they’re too big for me, personally.

Have you tried all these flavors yet?

** Pictures coming… I’m having blogging issues at the moment 🙂

