Mmmm bread.  You know you love it.  Toast, sandwiches, french toast, straight out of the bag…  It’s part of my everyday life.

Bread is so good for you and it makes me sad that carbs get a bad rap.  Healthy, whole grains are heart healthy and part of this balanced diet.  As with everything else: moderation is key.

It might be hard to do so if you get a package like this in your house.

IMG_0005

Dave’s Killer Bread!!!!

Dave has an amazing story:  His father was a baker and as a child all he wanted to do was be like his father.  As he entered adolescence this changed as he sunk deeper and deeper into a life of drugs and crime.  After multiple incarcerations, Dave found his true calling where he began.  As his father, a true baker in every sense, creating a product that is made in the traditional way.  A healthy, satisfying product he could be proud of and one that I’m sure his father would be proud of as well.  To hear more of Dave’s inspirational story click here.

Good Seed

IMG_0053

Ingredients: Organic whole wheat (organic cracked whole wheat, organic whole wheat flour), water, organic unbleached enriched wheat flour (organic wheat flour, niacin, iron, ascorbic acid, folic acid, thiamin, riboflavin, enzymes), organic good seed mix (organic whole ground flaxseeds, organic sunflower seeds, organic whole flaxseeds, organic unhulled sesame seeds, organic black sesame seeds, organic poppy seeds), organic evaporated cane juice, organic wheat gluten, organic steel cut oats, organic molasses, yeast, sea salt, organic oat fiber.

Wow, this is so good.  I bit into this slice and sighed with contentment.  Simply topped with butter it was dense and had a slight sweetness.  I love the seediness of this bread.  There are lots of seeded breads out there but there’s something special about this one.  It tastes as close to homemade as you can get without pulling out mixing bowls and the vacuum (I’m a messy baker, sue me).

Powerseed

IMG_0086

Ingredients: Organic whole wheat flour, organic cracked whole wheat, water, seed mix (organic flax, organic ground flaxseed, organic sunflower, organic unhulled sesame, organic pumpkin, organic black sesame, and organic poppy seeds), natural fruit juices (peach, pineapple, and pear), organic vital wheat gluten, organic oat fiber, organic oats, yeast, sea salt, organic rice bran extract, cultured wheat.

Okay, this bread made me mad.  Why? It was better than the Good Seed.  I now know I’ll never be able to recreate this and I’ll now have to pay to ship this bread to my house. The hearty seediness and natural sweetness of the bread was a great dessert when topped with chocolate peanut butter 🙂

I’m officiallly addicted to DKB!  Did I mention that it’s organic too?  Well it is 😀

