Gnu Foods is a small company that makes all natural, great tasting foods that help address specific nutritional needs and health conditions.

This five year old company is really trying to make a difference by providing good food, that tastes good, and that is healthy to all.  They believe that “Real health makes us feel good inside and out, physically and emotionally.”  With obesity and diabetes running rampant in our nation, even in our children, we must do more to help prevent this.

Gnu works hard to do this and even offers a section of their website with tips for parents.  Despite being a ‘nonparent’, I still find the information fascinating and hope that I can share this link with my students’ parents.  Generally speaking, it’s hard to find information on childhood nutrition as it can be a very individual topic based on the child’s guidelines which make even general information hard to come by.  I love that Gnu uses their site to provide some quick facts that are easy to understand and retain.

They also have a really awesome feature that shows “what they’re reading” which directs you to some great, accessible nutrition books.  They also have a general “fiber and your health section” for adults.

How do they taste though?

Gnu bars are seriously yummy!  They have a light sweetness and are chewy like a chewy fresh baked goodie.  Which means I loved them!  There are a lot of yummy flavors: Banana Walnut, Cinnamon Raisin, Orange Cranberry, Chocolate Brownie, Peanut Butter, Lemon Ginger, and  Espresso Chip.

IMG_0007

My favorite flavor suprised me… with a chocolate flavor you’d think it would have been that, but…

IMG_0079

Ingredients: Gnu High Fiber Blend™ (whole rolled oats, organic whole wheat flour, wheat bran, organic kamut, psyllium, flax, millet), chicory root inulin, fruit juices, rice dextrins, apples, canola oil, walnuts, rice, plums, banana, wheat protein isolate, natural flavors, baking powder.

Banana Walnut was my favorite.  It was like a bite of heavenly banana bread without too many walnuts (like the flavor not the texture of walnuts).  I loved it.

The other flavors were good but cannot compare to the Banana Walnut flavor.  I want you to try all the flavors and let me know which is your favorite.  I do love the nutrition stats on these bars because they’re the perfect size for me.  They’re big enough to carry me from my early lunch hour (usually around 11:30am) and when I get home (around 5:00pm).  It’s not so big that I can’t have dinner till 8:30 but the fiber keeps me satisfied enough that I’m not chewing my arm off when I walk in the door, and then make a sensible dinner!

