I’ve had a strange couple of days- hence no posting. I’m also swamped with work so let’s see if we can get this done, ay?

Friday

I got up and had a camera shy cup of coffee. It really made for a great morning, don’t ask me why, because I don’t know.

Then at school, I had what has become standard.

200907192306.jpg

The (blurry?) smiley face. Those were the last eggs. Good thing eggs are my favorite or I’d be ready to throw some at someone πŸ™‚

School was even better than usual because 8 students were absent. It doesn’t matter how much you love your students it’s still nice when you have a smaller class- so peaceful. I think we all had a great day even though we missed our amigos.

I tried to think of what to have for lunch on my way home. This is what I came up with.

200907192306.jpg

Grilled cheese with ‘plastic’ cheese (yum) and tomato on Ezekiel bread.

200907192307.jpg

Yes, it’s on the very messy cutting board because that’s where I served and ate it, standing right by my sink. I’m classy.

Then I crashed like never before. I fell asleep until 1:30am which was great because I was averaging 3.5-4 hours a night last week. It was bad because I had an assignment due at 1:00am that wasn’t completed. I thought I was just taking a nap and would wake up much earlier. I’m pretty disappointed about that but I’m trying to let it go because it’s not something I can change, so why dwell on it.

Then I stayed awake and finally fell back asleep at 6:30am.

Saturday

I woke up at around 11, did what I do every morning (call my mom for a chat) and did a little ‘to-do list’ making and blog reading.

I saw the lovely Anne’s oatmeal and started craving some so badly! (and she got a her own domain today! yay!)

200907192308.jpg

I used this Organic 6 grain (with Flaxseed) my mom got me a while ago to make my bowl of cereal.

200907192308.jpg

I used my standard thinly sliced banana in there plus 3/4 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk.

200907192309.jpg

It was the best bowl I’ve had in ages. Sometimes simple is food is the best. It reminded me why I love this kind of breakfast so much.

For lunch, I made something up.

Avocado Stuffed Sweet Potatoes.

200907192305.jpg

The best thing I’ve eaten in months (years?).

Dinner was a “health choice” (haha, get it?)

200907192310.jpg

Blah, I hate frozen meals but it was in the freezer and needed to be eaten. Remind me not to buy something even when I can use my bargain hunting skills to get it for pennies, ok?

Then I went to bed at a decent hour…. and slept. The weekends always put me back on track.

Sunday

Mmm, I woke up kind of late again (as in past the time I have to be at work). I love it when that happens! Next week, I can wake up at the time everyday! Yesssss!

The thing with me and oatmeal breakfasts is that once I remember how much I love them, they happen again and again.

200907192310.jpg

Multigrain cereal, blueberries, strawberries and unsweetened almond milk.

200907192311.jpg

I missed the banana in it. I don’t know why I thought I could do without it! Still good though, just not as deliciously sweet throughout.

I did major work on my huge paper between breakfast and lunch.

Shells + Cheese + Broccoli = Make my overworked brain happy.

200907192312.jpg

My stomach wasn’t complaining either πŸ˜‰

I did more major work after this. I’m actually quite impressed with myself. I don’t usually focus for this long. I guess I work best with a deadline.

Dinner was simple and fast because I was on a roll.

200907192313.jpg

I realized there were a lot of bowls in my day (well the same bowl, just washed between meals actually). So, I had dinner on a plate.

200907192313.jpg

Smushed (a far too complicated to explain cooking technique) avocado, diced tomatoes and green peppers. I was supposed to add broccoli slaw but didn’t really plan well and it was too full to add anything else. So delicious though. I squeezed lime juice over the veggies.

I just finished my final paper for History (entitled the real casualty of the Cold War, the American childhood). I just have to post something about some Cold War era songs tomorrow and I’m done with that class! Finally! Hopefully, I don’t lose anymore than 5 points on the paper so I can get an A in that class. Had I done that assignment on Friday instead of sleeping that wouldn’t be an issue 😳 Oh well. C’est la vie. I needed the sleep.

When I started this I was angry and upset at someone who lied to me, even though they think I don’t realize it, and I was going to put them on blast, but after reviewing my weekend I have much more to be thankful and happy for than to be upset about. So I won’t dwell on something that probably doesn’t matter in the long run. Instead, I’ll pat myself on the back for having arguably the healthiest eating weekend in the past few months, if not year. (Weekends tend to be either junk food filled or severely lacking in food due to some neuroses on my part). this weekend was soooo good on that front. Definitely a victory.

I hope everyone else had great weekends as well… oh snap!, I’m about to head to my google reader and find out!

