That’s a mouthful, but a delicious one at that!

I was having a pretty lackluster day and was yearning for some comforting food. At this point, I’m not ready to trade health for comfort nor was I willing to leave my apartment and get the ingredients for traditional comfort food (read: ice cream, chips, etc.). When I was a child, anytime I was sick or sad my mom would make me her amazing mashed potatoes on demand. I wanted to recreate that today but minus the butter and add in some fun ingredients to make it a full meal without much work on my part. I have three major projects I’m working on for school, plus blog work to do, plus Summer Camp wrapping up to plan! I didn’t have time to really create in the kitchen.

So while I should have been crafting a beautifully written research paper on The Cold War and Its Affects on the American Childhood or The Constitutionality of Using School Grounds for Religious Activities Outside of School Hours, I was dreaming up an easy recipe that would satisfy all the different criteria going on in my head: creamy, rich, spicy, and tangy.

There my Avocado Stuffed Sweet Potato was born.

200907192252.jpg

Avocado Stuffed Sweet Potatoes
Serves 1
Ingredients
1 medium sized sweet potato (~8 oz)
2.5 t. of taco seasoning (I used this recipe but even a packaged one works).
1 T. hot sauce (optional)
juice of 1 lime
1/2 large tomato, diced
1/2 avocado, diced

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 400 F.
2. Pierce sweet potato with a fork and bake for ~40 minutes until soft.
3. Cut a ‘top’ off of the potato and scoop out the meat from the inside.
4. Mash the sweet potato with a fork and add the taco seasoning, hot sauce and lime juice. Add the tomato and avocado.
5. Serve in the sweet potato ‘shell’

200907192255.jpg

The beauty in this is the simplicity- pop a sweet potato in the oven. Go away and do your thing. Come back, take out some aggression with your mashing (let’s just say my potatoes were perfectly uniform, not a single lump), stir in a few things, and EAT. That’s my kind of meal! It seriously smelled like greasy tacos but tasted so much better.

200907191055.jpg 200907191057.jpg
Estimated Glycemic Index at 17.
Hello Vitamin A! Look at all those nutrients that are often hard to come by- Vitamin K, Magnesium and Manganese just to name a few. Love it!
For less than 400 calories- even using half an avocado you get a very satisfying meal. Hey, have a few tortilla chips on the side to dip into this and really indulge… okay, okay, I guess you could have a salad šŸ˜€
Notes: There was so much filling that I ate about 1/3 to 1/2 of a cup of the mix right out of the bowl I mashed them in. By mashing the cool tomato, avocado and lime into the sweet potatoes the whole mix gets cool, so if you’re looking for a warm dish, just pop it under the broiler for a few minutes and it’ll be perfect! If you have some fresh corn on the cob, I’d suggest adding in some kernels (raw or cooked) off the cob for a sweet addition to this dish. Topping this with a some salsa, sour cream or Greek yogurt would be great as well!
P.S. Don’t let that fat scare you, this is heart healthy fat from nature. Fat makes your hair shinier. Go For It! This hit all the spots (TWSS).
