“Everyone is an athlete. But some of us are training, and some of us are not.” –Dr. George Sheehan, runner/writer/philosopher

My new favorite quote!  I love this I am applying it to my own life.

Training was fabulous today.  Slightly boring but well paying and I got a whole bunch of Teacher’s Guides for a reading and math program I would love to use.  It makes me want to consider doing third grade Spanish Immersion in the 2010/11 school year. (As in 8 year olds that kind of terrify me, since you know I’m about their height and sound about their age… okay okay maybe I sound like a 12 year old but that’s pushing it :oops:). I think the reading program especially is amazing.  Actually, I think I’m going to type of a nice letter and send it to the founder, who I met today, and try to convince him that he needs someone like me working with them to develop the Spanish counterpart to the program.  That’d be a dream.  The math program would be pretty fab to use as well to supplement the current curriculum.

Anyway, the food was catered but camera’s and cell phones were pretty much a no-no today.  I had to refrain from photographing my eats but I’m pretty proud of the training coordinators for having good options.

There were trays and trays of danishes, pastries, cake (at breakfast?) and breads which I skipped and headed right for the sliced watermelon, honeydew, pineapple & cantaloupe and added about three spoonfuls of FF Raspberry yogurt (3 because I only like foods with a ‘hint’ of raspberries!).  Fab.

The only problem was that when the 1:00 lunch rolled around, I was ready to eat the box my lunch came in.  My lunch was a grilled vegetable sandwich- artisan roll, thin slice of mozzarella, grilled eggplant, zucchini, squash and red pepper with a little EVOO.  On the side was a Diet Crack Coke, half a bag of regular old Lays and a small oatmeal raisin cookie.  I was perfectly satisfied, although I should have stopped at just the sandwich because I was almost satisfied then and the rest of my soda would have handled the rest.  Oh well.

I came home and crashed and woke up hungry again… which led to straight out of the fridge eats that were not captured on film- leftover Jamaican followed by two small slices of pizza I had saved in the fridge re-baked and eaten straight off the baking tray.  Very classy.

I was still hungry after that- so I had some dark chocolate and maybe a small square of VG blondie.

Oh well… I’m going for another bike ride tomorrow, hopefully first thing so all that junk (minus the blondie… that could never be described as such) can just fuel my ride, haha.

Rebeca 5

Training will help me get back to being this comfortable in my own skin again (minus the socks + sandals thing).

