We’ve heard it before, or at least I have a million times. Your outside is a reflection of what is going on inside. If your apartments a mess chances on your brain is as well. Granted, some of us are messier than others and it’s worth taking that into account.

So consider your own standards? For me, that’s no dishes in the sink, a laundry basket that’s less than half full, a recently vacuumed rug and a clear table/desk. Now, an unmade bed- that just means the sheets haven’t been changed that day. (That’s right mom once a week my bed is fixed, twice if I happen to have a guest or I know that my apartment people will be in later 😳

Get to the point already Rebeca!

Okay! Okay! I heard ya

This was my apartment earlier today:

Oh No She Di'int

Oh No She Di'int

Oh Yes She Did!  I took all my clothes out of my drawers and closet(s) and threw them on the floor. I reorganized, purged clothes that were too big and those that well worn, I refolded and organized everything. And transformed it into this:

Work Clothes

Work Clothes

Pink hangers mean “needs ironing” which means I even know when I need to plan a few extra minutes in my AM routine or prep ahead.

Sweaters, Jackets & Coats

Sweaters, Jackets & Coats

Casual Gear, folded neatly!

Casual Gear, folded neatly!

Too Small But Can't Give Up Clothes and Winter Workout Gear

Too Small But Can't Give Up Clothes and Winter Workout Gear

The hardest part was getting rid of the things that don’t fit. Whether too small or too big they’re part of my journey.  The too big things scare me, represent how far I’ve come and I have the recurring occasional fear that I will need them again and not have them.  The too small clothes are equally hard because they did fit once, and getting back there would mean so much, but they’re also just taking up space, and considering the number of homeless individuals I pass daily, or the one little homeless four year old I teach daily, I really don’t need to be so selfish. So, I have a bunch set to give away, and just kept a few significant items for later. I went from underbed boxes of ill fitting clothes to one!

In my frenzy, I even did this:
img_02751

I cleaned the kitchen cabinets! I couldn’t find anything in there even though it was “organized” it was too crowded. So I moved things around a bit, put the right things together and even rediscovered some products. It was 37% as good as grocery shopping… maybe 36%.

So what’s the point? I should fold clothes at the Gap? I can wield a hanger like nobody’s business?

Well… Ob-vee 😎

But, when your home is a mess, chances are so are you and your eating habits.

Can’t make breakfast because I’m searching for a pair a pants that fit in an overcrowded drawer.

Can’t pack a lunch because I can’t find anything suitable in the cabinets.

Can’t, Can’t, Can’t.

Well, you Can! Take a half hour today and organize a drawer or two. Okay, I hear ya you work full time, are in school full time, have a life, blah blah blah… Well so do I. So take 5 minutes! Instead of letting your laundry sit in the basket and digging through for a matching pair of socks, put the clothes away in their place right away. Yes, it takes you twenty minutes to get it all done, but it’ll save you countless minutes for the rest of the week. Those twenty minutes every time you do laundry, will mean that in a few weeks your drawers will be organized without too much extra work or devoted time on your part.

When you walk in with your mail, immediately throw the junk in the recycling bin, shred what you need and file away the important stuff. When you unload your work stuff, immediately wash those reusable containers for the next day. When you come in from the grocery store put everything away, rotate your stock as if you are Employee of the Month at Whole Foods. Those few minutes that you take will add up, and before you know it, grabbing a healthy lunch for work will be easy.

Grabbing a bar for a post 9 to 5, preworkout snack…

Bars Galore!

Bars Galore!

… easy, you don’t even need to open the box!

So…

Declutter Your Home, Declutter Your Diet!

