How you doin?

I’m happy today, teeheehee.  Not for any particular reason really.  It was just a regular day in the ‘hood, you know- Red Line WMATA shutdown foreva and I was late to work but it’s okay, I didn’t run into the principal or anything 😀  We did go on a field trip today though.  We went to Glen Echo Park, MD to see the Nutcracker Puppet Show.  It was très cute and the kids love the story (they heard the story a bunch and watched the ballet version on video this week when it was too rainy to go out for recess).  Andddddddd my “bad” kids were perfect, one because his stepmom was there, the other was just good for the first time ever.  I mean consistently attentive, quiet and good.  Apparently, we just need to instruct with puppets regularly 😛

Anyway, I didn’t get to eat breakfast because I packed it but was late.  So I was starving at lunchtime… but I couldn’t decide what I wanted more, my packed breakfast or the main part of my lunch.  So, I had both:

Black & Blueberry Museli and a PB&B Sandwich!

Mmm, too bad I left my camera in my classroom because my bowl of museli was amazing.  The last time I made museli with oat milk it didn’t work as well as it did with soymilk or soymilk and yogurt mix… but yesterday I saw the lovely Erin‘s bowl and that she added protein powder to it… duh Beck… that’ll fix your problem.  So I added half a scoop of vanilla and berries, and a drizzle of agave and it was still delicious at 12:45 today.  My sandwich was equally delicious with dark chocolate PB and banana.  I think people thought it was weird that I was eating oatmeal at lunch and they kept offering me other stuff but I may just make it a regular thing because it was delicious and has outstanding staying power, hmmm.

I was going to make a “real” dinner but it’s Friday and I’m tired so I just went for something quick and easy but still healthy:

Amy's Spinach & Feta Pocket

Amy's Spinach & Feta Pocket

Amy’s!  I made a Spinach and Feta Pocket.  I love these and all Amy’s pockets (well not the Roasted Vegetable one… ew).  I was going to make a quesadilla a la Erica but I wanted more in it than cheese so I decided to move it to tomorrow’s lunch so I could really enjoy it 😀  My alternative  was yummy and delicious though and since it wasn’t a huge dinner I decided to make a huge dessert… it started with a big mug of chocolate-y goodness:

Hot Chocolate with Silk Creamer

Hot Chocolate with Silk Creamer

Yum, with a spoonful of Cool Whip Lite.  Now, that was good but there was still something missing… and I have a ton of ripe fruit so I knew that had to be part of it:

Apples and Pears?

Apples and Pears?

Cranberry-Apple-Pear Crisp.  I layered sliced apples and pears in a pie plate “decoratively” mostly because it was therapeutic 🙂

Ready to Go?

Ready to Go?

I made a topping with 1/2 cup of oats, 3 T. of whole wheat flour,  1 T. of whipped butter and cinnamon.  I topped the apples with this then I drizzled Knudsen Just Cranberry juice over everything.

Hot & Steamy

Hot & Steamy

I baked it at 350 for about 30 minutes, then I started to get impatient since it wasn’t done and covered it in foil and upped the tempt to 375 and continued to bake it for another 25 minutes.

All Served Up

All Served Up

Yumminess, especially with the Cool Whip Lite on top (and yes I know that’s not healthy but it’s okay once in awhile- or twice in one day 😛 ).  Honestly though, I think I’ll skip the topping with the rest… it’s good but all I really just love the fruit.  And then I’d take the cranberry juice, and cinnamon, and add flour or cornstarch to that and cover the fruit before baking.  Still, at 225 kcal for 1/4 of the dish, this girl is NOT complaining 😀

It’s Friday night, I’m 21, and I think I’ll just go to bed.  I’m still preoccupied and I’m tired and nothing else sounds good.  Which means I can get up early and get on an elliptical it’s been months (but don’t tell anyone lol- I’ve been walking outside instead but it’s getting colder and wetter and I’m ready for indoor activities again).

