You know what the best way to alleviate a bad mood is? Soup. Soup makes life better.

I had a bunch of stuff that needed to be used- a box of orzo I’d opened awhile ago that I don’t really want to leave sitting in the cabinet for months, kale that I bought a long time ago, and a container of vegetable broth that according to the package needed to be used by tomorrow and the remnants of a can of tomatoes that I used to make marinara sauce for the kiddos. So… I made soup!

The entire pot of soup (which had about 5 cups of soup in it) was 360 kcal! I just cooked 2 ounces of orzo, added 3 cups vegetable broth, some tomato juice (about 1 cup), some tomatoes (4 canned stewed romas, roughly chopped) and then wilted the kale right at the end (a large bunch, I didn’t cup measure it but it was about 170 grams). Oh, and I added basil and parsley to it (1 T. dried each). It was so perfect just simple and delicious. I had three bowlfuls of it. The reason I didn’t eat the entire pot? Well, because this particular bowlful I tried to eat while sitting on the floor in front of an Art History video for class, and when I heard a scream and turned quickly the entire contents of it fell in my lap. Oops πŸ˜›Β  It reminded me of an Italian flag with the bright green and red of the veggies and the white of the orzo, and the (simple) spices fit into that mix too πŸ™‚

Totals: 268 kcal, 2 g fat, 10 g protein, 6 fiber. Oh wow- light perfect dinner.

I need to go to the library to pick up some books for school (and some vegan cookbooks I want to look at before purchasing) and to the store, but it’s 7pm and I have to finish these videos so I can take an exam tonight, so it might not happen until tomorrow. Even though I thought my food was uninspiring, I should finish the things that I have before buying more, even if that means another day without bananas and avocados and hummus. I will survive (barely).

For dessert, I had this beauty:

Well it’s not super beautiful or anything but it was perfectly ripe…

65 kcal, 1 g protein, 2 g fiber

Okay, well still not too pretty but such a sweet counterbalance to my dinner πŸ™‚ I’m still low on calories but I’m not hungry and maybe that’ll balance out yesterday’s overindulgences. We shall see.

