Yikes!

I’m so crabby today… I should have gone to bed earlier but of course I didn’t. One third of my brain is saying “NAP, NOW”, another third is saying “yoga, please” and the last third is saying nothing, she doesn’t speak when she’s angry. I’m actually feeling uninspired food-wise and that may be why I’m

1. so cranky (lack of fun food)

2. having such a hard time staying on track.

I think tonight I have no choice but to hit up the grocery store. It’s between Giant and Safeway… which to choose? On the one hand G is where my income comes from (indirectly) but it also means running into managers I know and perusing a store that I pretty much know top to bottom, on the other hand S has it’s own organic line which means cheaper prices for the items but also means having to be in a store that makes me claustrophobic. Whatev, I have to go or tomorrow I’ll be stuck eating hot dogs (ew).

Enough complaining, it’s so unnecessary and certainly doesn’t help my mood. I’ll just nap since for the first time in months all three kids are asleep and then I’ll watch my Art History videos this afternoon, as art is cheery, and do yoga later (post grocery store) 🙂 Ahh sounds like a better day already!

I had a pretty average bowl of cereal for breakfast:

326 kcal, 11 g fat, 13 g protein, 9 g fiber

Peanut Butter Puffins, Soy milk and Flax seed. A few months ago flax seed was a strange taste that I only mixed into things that would mask the flavor, now it’s the most dominant flavor in my meal and I love it!

Lunch was actually pretty good:

353 kcal, 8 g fat, 16 g protein, 17 g fiber

Dr. Praeger’s TexMex Veggie Burger (yum), Arnold’s Flax and Fiber Bread (vegan, at the regular grocery store, 4 g fiber and 4 g protein per slice, also yum, even though slightly burned), lotsssss of mustard (hey! this girl loves mustard) and a super juicy orange! The bread’s part of their ‘new’ natural line and the ingredients are perfect, it’s basically a whole bunch of whole grains just like you would make at home, no fake food, just real, wholesome ingredients!

It wasn’t quite enough for me, so I grabbed a yogurt as well:

150 kcal, 3 g fat, 6 g protein, 2 g fiber

Mmm, it ‘hit the spot.’ What I like about this brand of soy yogurt, Whole Soy, is that it doesn’t try to match the ‘tartness’ of dairy yogurts. It seems like other brands try to match the dairy version too much and overcompensate for it, and while they’re still good they’re not quite as good as the dairy version. Don’t get me wrong, I like strong yogurts (like greek-style) but this style is really light. I guess the best word to describe it is ‘easy.’ Can food be easy? Well this is. It also has little blueberries in it, and I have an affinity for little blueberries lol. It really tastes like plain yogurt with perfectly ripe blueberries mixed in, as opposed to sugared-up artificial blueberry yogurt without an actual piece of fruit in sight. Good stuff 🙂

It’s Nap Time!

