Yikes… I just got caught up in so much ‘life’ today, that I missed blogging entirely! Sad (for me lol). Be forewarned this one will be loooong!

Today, has already been good- the twins are a little crazy but generally good which makes for a nice day, and the AC is saving me from the 97 degree temps!

I started the day with an iced coffee... Oh yum!

75 kcal, 2 g fat, 3 g protein, 1 g fiber

I tsp. of instant coffee (just the thought of even looking at hot coffee was too much this morning), half cup vanilla soymilk, 1 T. french vanilla creamer (because I need to finish it), ice and a little water. So perfect! It’ll definitely become a staple in my life 🙂

Breakfast was oats (of course):

293 kcal, 8 g fat, 17 g protein, 9 g fiber

I only used water because I figured that the oats wouldn’t be creamy so I’d mix in vanilla soymilk after it was done but I didn’t realize how different the consistency would be with plain old water. I also cooked it with blueberries and strawberries, and topped it with half a homemade granola bar. Yum, it wasn’t very sweet though (like not at all) because the berries weren’t super ripe. After the first few bites though, I decided that I liked it just like that 🙂

I’ve been craving peaches for awhile but forgetting to get them, or not seeing any good ones at the grocery store… I even added them to my list this morning, until the twins showed me the new fruit bowl that they bought with their mom and it was full of peaches!

62 kcal, 0 g fat, 1 g protein, 2 g fiber

Perfect snack and perfectly delicious!

Lunch was Black Bean and Rice ‘Burgers’

508 kcal, 8 g fat, 13 g protein, 10 g fiber

I mashed the black beans, added cooked brown rice, salsa and a little cornstarch (as a binder because the recipe called for an egg, but it was unnecessary). It was soooooo good, and I had a lot of sweet pickles on the side 🙂 Yum!!!

Dinner was a variety of roasted veggies:

467 kcal, 15 g fat, 14 g protein, 13 g fiber

Potatoes, Asparagus and Eggplant. The eggplant needed more time so I popped it back into the oven, but by the time it was done I was almost full so I only ate the small round and saved the rest for tomorrow!

Then I went to the grocery store for much needed supplies (and a lot that I just wanted too 🙂 ).

Baby Arugula Salad Blend, Blackberries, Chives, Green Cabbage, Kale (!), Kiwi, Red Mangoes, Baby Bellas, Bell Peppers, Summer Squash, Extra Firm Tofu, Silken Tofu, Smart Dogs (even though I said I never would eat ‘fake meat’), Cheddar Veg. Slices (being a vegan must be hardcore because I read the label when I got home and it has MILK in it, I mean doesn’t that defeat the purpose?), rice milk, hemp milk, cappuccino soymilk (iced coffee and it’s only 70kcal a serving!), Barbara’s puffins PB, fiber one caramel, spinach fettucine, annies goddess dressing, amys- mattar tofu, bean burrito, roasted veggie pocket, veg. pot pie, soy delicious mocha fudge, wheat germ, oats (store brand had less fat and sugar!), whole wheat flour, barley, tricolor couscous, veg. broth, agave nectar, lentil (yeah DAD!), corn meal, chick peas, mustard (for those smart dogs), hazelnuts, phyllo dough (strudel recipe to try), vitamuffins, vitabrownies, low sodium soy sauce and some magazines… and gum!

I got tons of food, right and it was expensive (even shopping sales) I can’t imagine how much it would cost to feed a family, healthfully at least! At least this stuff will last me weeks if not two or three months (except for the produce but J+D can cover that). I mean I knew it in theory but never realized how difficult it must be for family’s to purchase healthy options. I tried to shop as vegan as possible and did it except the vitalicious stuff and the cheddar slices 😦 I forgot to read labels but it was 9:30 and I was rushing. Even though I could really go for a tomato I didn’t buy one!!!

Once home I was hot and hungry- so I had a nice dessert

173 kcal, 3 g fat, 6 g protein, 7 g fiber

For some reason SparkPeople wasn’t loading today, so I used caloriecount (.about.com) and the end result was significantly less than the Spark total. Very very strange.

In total, 1578 kcal, 36 g fat, 54 g protein, 43 g fiber. What a great day. I never did any formal exercise, since I picked sleep when my alarm went off this morning, but I was active all day with the twins. We stayed in because it was in the high 90s, but we ran around and did stuff, and I did 4 loads of laundry and relaxed (well as much as you can while doing all that other stuff, but I mean school-wise). Tomorrow, I’ll be back to reading and all that for school, I think I’ll try to read the book and watch the video over the next two days so I have two days for this week’s paper and of course Art History reading and videos too! Ay, it’s late! Niiiiiiiiiiiight

