Today was a day of trying out other people’s recipes.

First, I made Not Eating Out in New York’s Pesto Avocado Portoburgers. How can you go wrong with sautéed mushrooms, avocado and pesto? Well you can’t! I made an arugula pesto because those were the greens that we had, I love the peppery flavor of arugula and it would complement what I’d chosen on the side… Beet & Goat Cheese Arugula Salad from the Food Network, it’s a Giada recipe, and you can’t go wrong with her either!

366 kcal, 17 g fat, 12 g protein, 12 g fiber

I didn’t add shallots so skipped them, couldn’t find cranberries so I subbed golden raisins, and totally spaced on the olive oil… the dressing didn’t need it though! I ate the sandwich first, and when I got to the salad I was too full to finish it… so I probably ate a quarter of the whole thing, and then just picked out the beets since they’re my favorite 🙂 I ended up saving a bunch of calories that way because it cut out cheese, avocado, raisins, and walnuts. All of them are good tasting and good for you, but a little goes a long way with them. Next time I’d skip the raisins and walnuts (because I’ve decided that I’m not into them on salads) and use less cheese and avocado.

Now I wonder whose recipe I’ll use for dinner?!?!?!?!?!? Can’t wait to find one!

