Breakfast was cold and fast because I was too tired to think or cook.

295 kcal, 5 g fat, 23 g protein, 5 g fiber, 10 g sugar

Special K, protein, ground flax seed, hemp milk, skim milk, and strawberries. Yum. Too sweet though, both in grams of sugar but also in taste… that protein is sweet (and half the sugar here too!).

I decided to try quinoa (keen-wah) as well. It’s so easy to make (it was under 10 minutes of cook time). You just measure on part dry quinoa and two parts water, bring to a boil, then lower temp and cover until all water is absorbed.

It smelled kind of bland so I would take the advise of the package and cook it with vegetable stock (or any stock) for added flavor.

427 kcal, 10 g fat, 21 g protein, 10 g fiber, 6.5 g sugar

I made a salad with the random things in my fridge that have been open for awhile and need to be used… the rest of a can of chickpeas, sun dried tomatoes, grated parm. cheese, and feta cheese. It was a little dry as is and so I went for some white balsamic vinegar and it was perfect!

It was a great lunch and the balsamic’s acidity really balances the sweetness of the tomatoes and the slight bitter flavor of the quinoa alone. It didn’t have much ‘chew’ though so I think I’ll need a bunch of water and maybe some raw veggies as a snack later 🙂

Edit: I didn’t finish my lunch… well I picked out the chickpeas and the cheese and tomatoes and ate half the quinoa. I’m not sure why but it just didn’t work for me. The flavors were right the textures were fine but something was missing. I think next time, half quinoa, half orzo would be perfect, or even just making it a hot/cold salad with greens and cold veggies as well. We’ll see, I have plenty left to experiment with 🙂

