The twins made me lunch today. An egg, an apple, a carrot, a bunch of grapes and bananas and a tomato (or a pepper?). How cute are they, right? For some reason, I found it especially cute because a few months ago when they ‘made me lunch’ it was an ice cream cone, cupcakes and pizza or something equally unhealthy! I guess they notice even more than I thought they did!

Since that wasn’t the world’s most filling lunch, I had to make one of my own as well 🙂

1 Tex-Mex Veggie Burger, 75 g garbanzos, 15 g olives, 90 g of tomato (after seeding), about 1/2 c. red bell pepper, 100 g romaine lettuce, 37 g avocado, 1 ear corn, 2 T. peach mango salsa

430 kcal, 14 g fat, 17 g protein, 18 g fiber

This had some serious volume. It took a good 45 minutes to get through, granted I had to jump up three times because the same people who made me lunch decided to ‘wash’ the floor with cups of water. Also, I hate staring at a messy kitchen so I kept getting up between bites to clean up because it was bothering me. If there was some way that I could guarantee that my food would remained untouched (by those little chefs) I would clean up everything before eating, but it’s not worth the risk of looking up from the dishes and seeing an empty dish 🙂 I added the True Lime packet to water. Those things are amazing! I discovered them through Hungry Girl, and got a free sample. You should too! They come in lemon, lime and orange and are soooo useful!

My favorite parts were the avocado- I can’t believe I used to hate it when I was a kid!, the veggie burger because they’re so good. Do you see the whole veggies in there? Yum! Oh, and the salsa. It was both sweet and spicy, there ingredients are tomato, mango, peach, jalepeño peppers, sugar, water, onions, vinegar and salt. Which I like because it could easily be recreated at home and they’re all ‘real’ things! I ended up picking out all the olives because after biting into one I remembered that I only like olives in things that are warm (like pizza, or a pasta dish). Hmm, I planned on adding shredded cheese and totally forgot! Oh well, it was great as is!

What an awesome lunch! ¡Muy delicioso!

Update: oops forgot the vitamins, Just took them!!!

