Dear Microwave,

I love you. On Saturdays, when the rest of the world gets to sleep in, or at least doesn’t have to work all weekend on a holiday weekend. You make the whole experience a little bit better. I don’t think I ate anything today that wasn’t either microwaved or uncooked. No stove for me today!

Mini Mart Breakfast

I felt like I was standing at Wilson Farms heating up a convenience breakfast, not that I’ve ever done that, but I’ve certainly seen a ton of people doing so. I took Lauren’s advice and mixed my protein and my milk together then added it to my hot beverage.

What’s wrong with this picture? I had to use an old sippy cup. There’s protein and hemp milk in there πŸ™‚

Today it was tea instead of coffee, it was Holiday Chai which is flavored with gingerbread and rum. How could I not try that right? The problem is that I live in a house where things magically disappear and then littlepeople never know what happened to them. Days later I’ll find the item mixed in with the toys though! I had an apple with a little cinnamon and a ‘Bagelful’ (and of course my vitamins!) with the tea.

344 kcal, 9 g fat, 17 g protein, 5 g fiber

I really do like those bagel things they’re highly convenient and at 200 calories or less they’re a good portion controlled bagel fix. I mean they’re not New York bagels or anything but they’re good. I had planned on oats but frankly I’m tired and cooking stuff didn’t sound fun and that apple was the last piece of fruit in the house. Hopefully, that’ll change by this evening!

Round Two

Sushi last night was good and I was in the mood for some more, mainly for the nori πŸ™‚ So, I grabbed this sushi making kit that I’ve had sitting around for awhile. When I bought this they only had a white rice version, but now they have a brown rice one! (Too bad I have about 11 more boxes left of the white rice version πŸ™‚ ).

1 Annie Chun’s Sushi Kit, 1 cucumber (222g, peeled), 102 g baby carrots, 1 T. ground flax.

While I’m certainly a fan of homemade sushi, and the whole sushi making process which is highly enjoyable and a great thing to do with friends (I’m thinking of Mr. Witek, Sarah, Lauren and Ed πŸ˜‰ ). Today, in my laziness, that was not going to happen. The kit is so easy, just pop the rice container into the microwave for two minutes and top the precut nori with the rice and your filling of choice and eat! I added the flax to the rice since it was white rice and I was trying to make the best of a bad situation. I also blanched the carrots, but since I wasn’t about to boil a pot of water (the horror!) I heated some up in the microwave πŸ™‚ It worked out perfectly!

445 kcal, 4 g fat, 12 g protein, 6 fiber

This was a hard one to photograph but it was delicious. I think that I may end up making my own sticky rice next time with brown rice and giving the white rice to the children (my kids will only know what brown rice is!). The flax really added to the greatness of the dish though.

I definitely won round two with sushi because instead of fries, I had the (huge) amount of leftover veggies. I just ate them plain because cucumbers are perfect as is, and blanched carrots are as well πŸ™‚ It also took an immense amount of time to get through (a lot of chewing) so it kept me full for quite awhile!

I Did It!

As in not cook, it’s been a long time since I could say that for an entire day. Sometimes you just need a break. I’m looking forward to cooking again tomorrow though. J came through with some amazing groceries (fresh corn, watermelon, melon, avocado, more asparagus, bananas, berries, yum!)

355 kcal, 10 g fat, 9 g protein, 5 fiber

That’s an Amy’s Organic Broccoli and Cheese Pocket. I love Amy’s pocket sandwiches. The crust is so good and the filling has just the right ratio of veggie to ‘sauce.’ Yum! The mangoes reminded me of being in the Dominican Republic. It was incredible, they tasted just like the last mango I’d had there: Fresh, Delicious, Sweet, Juicy, Perfect. It was a nice simple dinner because I wasn’t very hungry after that lunch!

Snacksssssss

270 kcal, 21 g fat, 11 g protein, 1 g fiber

I’m more than a little obsessed with Jarlsberg. It’s okay though, eventually it’ll subside and be replaced by something else… maybe cashews πŸ™‚

I got thirsty, but I wasn’t in the mood for coffee or tea, and I already had a ton of water… I wanted something else…

45 kcal

It’s apple juice… well 3 ounces of apple juice with about 5 of water… yum and the perfect way to end the night.

In total, 1452 kcal, 45 g fat, 49 g protein, 18 g fiber… well I guess that’s what happens when you don’t cook ‘real’ food.

It feels like forever since I’ve said something about exercise, well okay, one day, but I did 20 minutes of mat work (Pilates) and 15 minutes of sun salutations (Yoga) today.

Update: I did another 10 minutes of Pilates because my back was acting weird and I thought it would help (it did) πŸ™‚

I also decided that I’ll be posting after each meal because staying up to finish up the day keeps me up late finishing up my posts and because it’ll force me to eat my meals at a decent hour which has really been a problem for the past month or so!

