I actually woke up hungry today and remembered two things- that I forgot my vitamins yesterday 😦 and that I needed to find my pedometer and actually wear it all day today (and I just looked and despite it being one of my first thoughts… I forgot again… that’s why I end up giving up on steps because eventually I just forget and lose it somewhere! So, I took my vitamins right away this morning! In the future, I’ll set them out with my breakfast… so if you don’t see them in the photos, yell at me (well not today because I didn’t think of it till now! I need a new multivitamin though. I have to choke it down and force myself to keep it down because it tastes gross. I’ve used a few brands and have yet to find on that I like (well One A Day Womens was okay I think, I forgot!). I started to tear up from the sheer agony of swallowing all those pills and AL came over patted me on the back and said “you’re okay little girl, take your vitamins so you can be stronger” and then gave me a hug πŸ™‚ I love her!

Flax-tastic Breakfast (7am)

I was happy to be hungry (weird?) and since the little ladies were up at 5:20 with their mother they’d already eaten so I made JP an I the same breakfast.

Serving Size: 2 waffles

I love this brand of waffles- their whole grain Belgian waffles are my favorite, closely followed by this flavor. They even have a soy-flax version and a ‘Berry Boost’ one (full of antioxidants and such). They’re also vegan, egg, dairy and gluten free, so they’re a great brand to have on hand when you have kids around because allergies abound and you don’t have to worry as much when you have sleepovers and such πŸ™‚ They even have a plain waffle flavor that compares to your regular frozen waffles (but it doesn’t have whole grains but it’s still better than the other varieties!)

105 g strawberries, 1 T. flax, 1 container of Yogurt (strawberry, fat free)

The waffles were blueberry flavored so I wanted berries on top (I considered warm, cinnamon apples too). I decided to be brave and have flax in something that wouldn’t mask the taste! The yogurt I ate because it will expire next week and I wanted calcium, not because I’m currently a fan (taste is fine, artificial sweeteners is not).

453 kcal, 14 g fat, 21 g protein, 8 g fiber

Okay, I took the yogurt out of the container so it’d be easier to mix the flax seed in there and I measured it… 5.5 ounces in a 6 ounce container. I mean you can’t get every little bit out of the container but there wasn’t 6 ounces in there! What a rip πŸ™‚ So, there was flax everywhere today. On top of the waffles, on the yogurt, and in the coffee. I was unsure about adding it to the coffee since I wasn’t sure about the heat, but then I remembered that you can bake with flax so went for it. Then I had a brilliant idea… my favorite flavor in coffee is vanilla (mmm Starbucks Nonfat Vanilla Lattes). The protein powder I got was vanilla. It makes things creamy. Perfect. Again, I’m not sure on whether or not it’s a good idea to heat up the protein with coffee and I plan to research that today, but I’m sure I could temper it, even with a little milk, and then add the coffee. It was good good good and upped the protein count by 9 grams! Note: I checked it’s good, they just suggest adding it to a cold liquid first to prevent clumping. WooHoo! Also, I think that flax would need to be ground much, much finer to add to the cup again, only because there were bits left on the bottom. It was kind of cool though, texture wise. The breakfast was good, but next time I’ll put the flax on the waffles (in those little squares), then put the berries on top because there was flax all over the plate that fell off the berries (I ate it anyway, in an impolite way πŸ™‚ ). Alternately, if I added maple syrup (or pecan syrup…) and stirred the ground flax into the syrup first, or topped the waffles with peanut or cashew butter so that the flax seed would stick to that it’d be easier to eat. While I do like peanut butter on my waffles, it only works on plain ones (for me) so even though I considered it, I opted out of doing so today. Though breakfast was good, I missed my oats. Two days off is too long! I’ll have to have them tomorrow! This breakfast had less fiber than my usual breakfasts (which are usually around 12 grams or so) and though I aim for high fiber breakfasts because they keep me full which is good for weight loss, they keep me full past lunchtime (which makes it easier to skip the meal) which is not good for dealing with ED. Ahh, the dramz of breakfast

Lovely Lunch (12:30pm)

The twins are annoying me. We need a break from one another but that won’t happen until next weekend at least 😦 I wasn’t feeling very inspired and I was hungry (oh that fiber) so I wanted something fast so I just started pulling stuff out of the fridge.

105 g tomato, 32 g field greens, 1 oz. Jarlsberg, 1 tortilla

Ugh, the only ‘bread-like’ product we had, not that I need bread (Lauren πŸ™‚ ) but I wanted bread. It’s so strange to me that no matter what I say or what I put on the grocery list people adjust the items. I say wheat rolls and white ones come home, I say Granny Smith apples and we get Red Delicious. Annoying.

145 g Asparagus

Leftover steamed asparagus just called my name from the fridge. I mean, the little stalks were jumping up and down screaming ‘Beck, Beck, Beckyyyyyyy’ Oh wait, that was AR and AL doing that πŸ™‚

While I had the ‘quesadilla’ up there on the griddle, I made a quick dressing for the asparagus. Mostly for the white balsamic vinegar and the pepper because they make my heart smile (it was 2 parts vinegar, 1 part extra virgin olive oil, with S+P)

I love this photo, mmmmmmmm

It looked good, but it would have been 37 times better with a whole wheat tort just because they’re heartier and would have absorbed more of the tomato juices. Within minutes the tort was kind of damp which was fine but I imagine it would have been better if people followed directions.

373 kcal, 19 g fat, 16 g protein, 7 g fiber

It was so delicious. Again, I saved the asparagus for last because it is so very good. I mean seriously, go get some today and have it! It’s in season! I mean look at them ↓

Dressed and ready to go out!

I love asparagus. It’s so full of nutrients ~vitamin A, vitamin C, copper, folic acid, etc., etc.

The quesadilla was also good… but I was eating it too fast, so I ended up knife and forking the second half. The only thing that would have made it better is some sautΓ©ed onions… next time!

Snacks and Such (~2:30 pm)

That’s what I swept up after lunch. It wasn’t all in one spot. It was ALL over. The twin terrors were in full effect. I didn’t even give them all of that! Specifically, those ‘handi-snacks’ or the American cheese slices (you see the wrappers?) Oh and they ‘drew’ on the windows with the cheese, but I handed them baby wipes and made them clean for themselves… while they were cleaning I stood and watched them (to make sure they got every single piece of cheese off the window) I ate an FB bar

150 kcal, 4 g fat, 2 g protein, 9 g fiber

I missed you FB, I love you! πŸ˜€

Crazy Orders (8pm)

I “ordered” dinner tonight because once again people didn’t come through and get groceries. I mean there’s still food here but just not enough to create a meal, or at least an interesting one.

Now, Don’t Judge!

298 kcal, 14 g fat, 3 g fat, 8 fiber

Well, I’d only planned on the sushi but JP saved me his fries… ‘because you don’t eat meat anymore and I couldn’t save you the nuggets.’ I even weighed them and they were .63 of a serving. I also ate them and they were great. I mean I don’t plan on making it a Friday night ritual but stuff happens. Even though now, I realize that if I’d had a better day with the twins. Stress got to me. Oh well. There’s always tomorrow. The sushi was good (140 kcal a roll)… Asparagus, Avocado and Cucumber. I told J that I didn’t want anything that ever lived or breathed but D didn’t agree and tried to order some shrimp tempura (not only do shrimp breathe but fried batter is bad bad, worse than the fries). I’m glad J listened. I even got more asparagus there πŸ™‚ I want to find a sushi place where they have brown rice as an option. Too bad vegetarian sashimi would just be veggies on a plate! I didn’t eat soy sauce but it.

Munchies

I made this and just kind of had it around to eat, and it wasn’t mindless. It just took awhile because of chewing and being distracted by other things.

94 kcal, 3 g fat, 4 g protein, 5 g fiber

I wish I had blanched the veggies beforehand but I was too tired. I planned to have a protein shake but I’m too tired and I’m actually quite full.

In total ~1358 kcal, 53 g fat (oops, I mean still in range sorta but wow… stupid fries), 46 g protein, 37 g fiber

I got hungry and ate an FB Bar that was sitting on my dresser, maybe I shouldn’t have had it there since I certainly wasn’t going to go down and get anything.

