I kept forgetting things today, like putting on my pedometer and it wasn’t till 1 pm that I remembered it! It seemed pointless to put it on then, but I did anyway πŸ˜› I also forgot to eat this morning. I just got super busy again with pancake making (I never should have made them pancakes last night for dinner because it reminded them about how good homemade pancakes were versus frozen ones and I’ll probably be shackled to the griddle every morning for the next three weeks!) and sending JP off to school and breaking up seven fist fights between AL and AR. I mean where do they learn this stuff??

Side Note: Sometimes I ‘forget’ to eat as in I lie to myself and anyone who bothers to ask and say that I forgot when I really just wanted to see how long I could go without eating… In an effort toward honesty about my food and my health if I do that I’ll write it, today was not one of those days though!

Breakfast

Since it was late and I’d already spent too much time in front of the stove, making oatmeal just wasn’t in the cards… but I still wanted a bowl of something, so cold cereal it would be!

1 c. Kashi Go Lean Crunch

I love this cereal. Not only is it Kashi, so I can trust the ingredients, but it’s also protein and fiber packed (9 g protein and 8 g fiber). It’s also really crunchy and chewy. It’s not the kind of cereal you can scarf down because you have to chew a bunch with each bite! It’s great on top of oatmeal too, especially if it’s plain oatmeal because it means more chewing which equals more satiety, right? It also has a lightly sweet flavor. It’s all around wonderful :

105 g strawberries, 1 T. ground flax seed, 3.5 oz. skim milk, 2 oz. hemp milk

Yesterday, I extolled the greatness of hemp milk without having tasted it myself! I mean, I had it mixed into my oats but I hadn’t tried it’s flavor alone. Today, I dipped my finger into this to test it and it’s delicious. It’s so sweet and creamy, I wonder if you can whip it like cream for desserts? It’s my new favorite milk. Well, I like all vanilla milks actually (soy, rice, now hemp) but the plain versions of each are good as well. I’ll have to grab a container of plain hemp milk as well next time!

343 kcal, 7 g fat, 16 g fiber, 13 g protein

Oh, this was good. I’ve been afraid to add ground flax to anything but oatmeal, even though I know you can add it to many things, but no more! It blended right in here, and even the last spoonfuls that were basically milk and flax seed were delicious! It was an excellent bowl of cereal. The strawberries were ripe and juicy so they flavored the milk too. I like the blend of flavors with the fruit, the vanilla from the milk, and the honey from the Kashi. None of them were dominant instead they all melded together beautifully. Halfway through I realized that I could have added protein powder to the bowl (well to the milk first) but I think that it was that artificial ‘french vanilla’ flavor from the powder that hindered my love of yesterday’s oats. I think that I’ll have to incorporate that elsewhere. But where???

Coffee: 5 kcal, 1 g protein; Facebook: 3 million calories of guilty pleasure πŸ™‚

Today was a plain coffee day. I’m not sure why but it worked out well because it was just strong enough to fuel me but not so strong that it tasted bitter and I didn’t waste calories on stuff either… woohoo!

Lunch/Dinner

I guess I was lying to myself about the lack of eating, or maybe it was in my subconscious because I didn’t eat again until after 6 pm. Ugh, I was hungry earlier but again I was cooking dinner for the children and kept putting it off. I’m still unsure as to what the root cause was to this since it really started yesterday. I know that I stepped on the scale on Tuesday and was upset by a plateau and I went over my calorie goal on Tuesday by one calorie I think… so I think I was subconsciously punishing myself for that… Not good, but not abnormal! This morning I stepped on the scale and was so close to another milestone and I know (now) that I knew that ‘punishing’ myself yesterday had helped me get there and despite my earlier proclamations of ‘forgetfulness’ I think today it was different. Today wasn’t exceptionally hard or anything, but there’s definitely something going on in my head. I think that I may need to consider that clock instead of hunger as I’d previously planned because I’m really good at ignoring that. I’ll just force myself to eat by a certain time even if it’s just something small.

I did have an excellent dinner though. I really wanted grilled cheese, but I didn’t want (gross) American cheese (okay it’s not gross but it’s oh so very, very processed).

2 slice 100% Whole Wheat Bread, 1 oz. goat cheese, 1 oz. field greens

Not pictured: 100 g green beans, 4.5 oz. asparagus, 1 T. homemade balsamic vinaigrette

I quickly assembled the sandwich (bread, greens, tomato, cheese, tomato, greens, more bread). It worked out flavor-wise, but it didn’t really hold up. It makes since since goat cheese melts into a creamy texture, and there was a ton of veggies in there, and had I used less of them it might have held up better. I don’t regret the amount of veggies in there though. It was yummy and healthy! I will definitely be doing this one again!

423 kcal, 13 g fat, 21 g protein, 14 g fiber

I blanched the green beans and had the intent to dress them, but when I tested one to see if they were done they tasted so sweet that I opted to eat them plain. I didn’t expect to like them as much as I did. Blanching is such an excellent way to prepare veggies. You don’t lose as many vitamins as you would in other methods and it provides you with a great fresh taste (which seems wrong but is true, try it!).

The asparagus came in this nifty container from TJs (so it was organic… I love TJs, organic, healthy and cheap… perfect!). Anyway, you can just pop the whole bag into the microwave for 2 minutes and voila! perfectly steamed asparagus. I really like asparagus and my favorite way is with balsamic vinegar. At home, my mom used regular balsamic vinegar which was delicious but strong. So, I used the white variety as it’s lighter. I added some olive oil (2:1 ratio) and a bit of kosher salt and attempted to add a few dashes of black pepper. Then the cap fell off and maybe two teaspoons fell in! I thought I’d have to start over but it ended up being perfect! As much as I loved the sandwich, this was my favorite part and I saved it to eat last. I can’t wait to eat the rest of the container tomorrow!

This was by far my favorite meal this week. I may have to have the exact same thing tomorrow (maybe). I have a thing for sandwiches, especially warm ones, and I love veggies that are as close to raw as possible (without actually being raw πŸ™‚ ). Perfect meal, perfect blend of flavors!

Workout

I didn’t do cardio tonight. Instead I did weights, machines then cables. It was hard! I did lower body on the machines and upper on the cables. I upped the weight on the lower body so I’ll probably be sore tomorrow (hopefully, it’s a good kind of sore). The cables were crazy! I’ve never used them and holding yourself steady and stuff forces you to use more muscles than you wouldn’t normally be using. I loved the cables and if there were less (annoying) guys using them I’d use them exclusively.

Snack

1 oz. Jarlsberg, 30 g. Snack Mix, Annie’s Organic Bunny Grahams, Fruit Crisps (Asian Pear)

420 kcal, 21 g fat, 12 g protein, 2 g fiber

We know I love that cheese! The snack mix was strange, not bad, just not great. The Bunny Grahams were yummy, now I know why the kids love them so much. The Fruit Crisps are a great snack- 40 calories, a serving of fruit and convenient. We get them at Costco. Actually, all of this stuff was from Costco except for the cheese (even though I’ve bought that there too!).

In total, 1191 kcal,Β  40 g fat, 50 g protein, 28 g fiber

Thoughts

I’m going to *try* to avoid the scale tomorrow. Today was a mess food wise. I ate but in the wrong ways. I only got the snack because I knew that I needed the calories since I was around 750. In my head, I wasn’t hungry, but I grabbed the food and after one bite my stomach started rumbling. I would have gone to bed thinking that I wasn’t hungry but in reality I was. *Sigh* If I were to step onto the scale tomorrow I’m sure I’d be ‘rewarded’ but it would be an empty prize.

Some days I see how far I’ve come, and I have I mean I ate today and I could have easily skipped all food today and maybe even for a few days and then gone on a binge. I did not do any of those things, but I still had those thoughts. I still have those thoughts. Maybe they’ll never go away. I’ll just have to keep fighting them! Tomorrow will be better. I plan to eat like a normal person. Three square meals and a snack or two. I promise (and that was mostly for me).

