Breakfast

This morning I was too busy with the twins and stuff to make breakfast and time flew by and I realized that it was 9:30 and I had to go to the gym then because it was raining so walking over later was out of the question and D and I both had hair appointments to get to. So, I quickly grabbed a FB bar (PB flavor) that I ate as I tied my shoe laces.

150 kcal, 5 g fat, 3 g protein, 9 g fiber
(that’s my little Sophie right there… the kids gave her to me!)


I did 10 minutes on the elliptical but started to feel tired and I was treading the rest so I hopped onto the treadmill because it’d be easier. Well, the guy next to me challenged me to keep up with him,
so I did (well I tried)… and ended up getting a great workout on there as well which was not my intent when I got on there. I was because my knee was feeling weird but mostly the thought of pushing myself for another mile or so on the elliptical filled me with dread. I ended up getting just under my original goal (of 2.25 miles in 30 mins.) thanks to that guy 🙂

I always feel slightly ill after working out… well not ill but the thought of eating makes my stomach hurt… I just need about 30 minutes or so to get there… so I decided to wait till lunchtime

Snack 1

Well, then I lost track of time and had to run out so I grabbed a banana and another FB bar (Choco).

230 kcal, 4 g fat, 3 g protein, 11 g fiber

I ended up giving about a third of this banana away to the twins who think that all bananas belong to them. I really need to get away from my dependence on these bars and think of some other quick filling snacks that I can make or something. Maybe I can make my own oatmeal bars? As soon as the oven’s fixed, whenever that is, I’ll start experimenting.

Lunch

I finally had my hair done at 5pm! Yeah, 3.5 hours after my appointment… partially because I have thick curly hair, and partially because my stylist was wack… that’s right wack!

My salon is in this outdoor mall, so I headed to their food court and tried to find some good vegetarian options. There was only Subway. Now I like Subway, but I would have liked to have a nicer meal- like that ‘Down South’ food place looked fun, but brisket, fried chicken and mac and cheese don’t really fit my plan I guess.

675 kcal, 24 g fat, 17 g protein, 7 g fiber


This sub was delicious. I usually get the same exact thing, just with a chicken breast on it. I thought it was the chicken that made me love it, I was wrong- it’s the light mayo.

Wheat bread, lettuce, tomato, cucumbers, black olives, green pepers, spinach, light mayo


Yum. I really do love mayo… I love the flavor of it. At least the kind I use at home has Omega-3s! I had the chips and a cookie and a diet coke. None of which are very good for you but what I really wanted were the cheese fries and chocolate cake I saw in the next restaurant over. This seemed like a better route! Besides, I rarely have any of those things and everything in moderation and all that! In retrospect, the cookie wasn’t worth it. It was sweet in a way that I no longer crave. I never thought there’d be a day where I didn’t feel like needed chocolate. I guess today is that day. I mean, I still like it, it’s just that a handful of blackberries is enough to satisfy my sweet tooth now.

Dinner

At first I was a bit surprised to be so hungry just three hours or so after lunch, but it was far from nutrition dense, mostly just calorie dense. I decided to go for a tofu sandwich. Then I saw mini pitas in the bread box and went for tofu pockets instead.

1/5 block of tofu, 78 g steamed beets, 20 g clover sprouts, 1 oz. field greens, 2 mini whole wheat pitas


I cut off a serving of tofu, and let some of the water drain onto a paper towel. Then I warmed it up in a pan with a little O.O. spray. Then I popped them into the pitas that I’d thrown into the toaster for a few seconds to warm them up.

293 kcal, 7 g fat, 20 g protein, 6 g fiber



There was a bunch of leftover sprouts, field greens and beets leftover so I made a quick salad. For some reason I felt like having dressing so spritzed some Honey Mustard dressing on it (10 cals)… I didn’t really taste it, those beets are strong (and delicious). I wish I’d skipped the dressing.

All in all, a delicious dinner. I forgot how much I loved the flavor of tofu. I think that I was remembering a rubbery texture (that’s more from lack of draining) and not the taste. I can’t wait to add it to something else tomorrow! It made me sad though… because I’ve wasted almost three years just eating junk. I mean I love tofu, I love veggies and yet I let myself escape in vast amounts of Oreos and other junk.


Snack 2

I’m terrified of getting an inadequate amount of protein. Partially, because I’m trying to help myself not hurt myself. Partially, because I’m trying to build muscle and know that protein is necessary for that. A bit of my favorite cheese did the trick of upping my protein intake for the day

100 kcal, 8 g fat, 7 g protein

Thankfully, after much research I now know that the minimum for me (based on my stats) is 46 g so thought I’ll still shoot for much more, I won’t stress as much about it as long as I make the minimum!

Dessert

Yikes, as delicious as my dinner was I wasn’t quite satisfied. So, I decided to cut up this yummy mango I got at TJs…

It was soooo soft 🙂

I never cut a mango before and I wasn’t paying attention and almost sliced off my finger too, so my mago ended up looking like this

108 kcal, 1 g protein, 3 g fiber


That’s okay though because it was still delicious!!

What a strange day. I regretted a lot about it- not staying on the elliptical, not going for a walk after it stopped raining to get more steps in, etc. Then I remembered that I did a lot of good things today. I did go to the gym. I did stick to plan and get healthy things and tomorrow will be better.

Oh and yesterday, I remembered all my vitamins and I’m grabbing them right now too 🙂

2 GNC Women\'s Active MV; 3 NM Calcium, Magnesium, Zinc; 2 Fish Oil Caplets

I take a Women’s MV, a Calcium, Magnesium and Zinc set and now Fish Oil for the Omega 3s, I will get rid of that when I completely cut out fish but I’m not sure what to replace it with because the Omega 3s in flax are different. More research time! I’m proud of myself because I tend to forget my vitamins!

I’m trying to cut back on calories though, because I’m not losing like I was before (as in plateauing for the entire month!) but I’ve also added about 200 cals a day unintentionally. So, I’ll see what I can do but I’m not going to forgo eating or go hungry for the sake of calories. If I’m hungry I will eat 🙂

In total, 1580 kcal, 51 g fat, 51 g protein, 37 g fiber… tomorrow I want those protein and fiber numbers up and the kcal and fat calories down!

