Today, I just felt like a kid. It helped that the twins wanted to pretend to be my parents so they made me ‘take a nap’ on the couch, wanted to do everything for me and made me pretend to cry like a baby 🙂

Breakfast

I used to eat oatmeal out of packets but after deciding that the sugar and the additives weren’t for me I switched to quick oats. Next time, I’ll probably just get the old fashioned version but I wasn’t the one who bought this container. Initially, it was hard to go from the super sweet oatmeal I was used to regular oats. So, I used Splenda® the first time, but I detest that flavor too. I tried maple syrup and honey and brown and white sugar to no avail. Last week, I had some super ripe bananas that I threw in there and duh! my favorite type of sweetness (now at least) is that found in fruit so I now load up my oats, as they cook, with fruit and I love it!

Today, all I wanted was to revel in memories. So, I tried to think of my favorite dishes as a child. One of my faves was triberry pie that one of my friend’s father used to make. So, I transferred those flavors to my breakfast. He used raspberries but his pie was the only thing that I liked raspberries in, so I substituted blackberries. Along with strawberries and blueberries, soy milk and ground flax seed, I had the makings of a lovely breakfast.

40 g quick oats, 55 g each blueberries & blackberries, 75 g strawberries, 4 oz. vanilla soy milk, 1 T. ground flax seed

I added the blueberries right away so they’d get really hot because I hate cold blueberries (I’m really picky about flavor and texture now because I want each eating experience to be enjoyable not mindless) and then I smushed (yes, that’s a technical cooking term) the blackberries in so they became a mash and all the juice ran out of them. Right at the end of the cook time I threw in the strawberries just to warm them up. I actually cook those ‘1-minute’ oats for about 5 minutes just because I want the additions to be warm not because the oats aren’t ready. Right before I add the oats to my bowl, I quickly stirred in the flax seed.

360 kcal, 9 g fat, 12 g protein, 13 g fiber

It was yummy, yummy, yummy! The oats had just the right amount of creaminess, the flax and blackberry seeds added just the right amount of crunch, and the strawberries were just warm enough to blend in but not lose their ‘fresh’ taste. The best part: the blueberries were hot. When they hit your tongue, they’d burst and all this hot, gooey blueberry goodness would coat your tongue. Oh joy! It really tasted like a fresh, hot piece of pie with every bite. Okay, not like pie but definitely some sort of baked good 🙂 With a steaming cup of coffee (and 1 T. of fat free vanilla creamer) = Joy!

I had another cup of coffee (mostly because I made too much, as usual). I’ve found that coffee helps keep me full longer and since I tend to snack more in the morning, or at least feel the need to snack more then, I’ve been making a second cup part of my routine.

25 kcal, 0.3 g protein (bet you didn’t know about that!)

The second cup I topped with marshmallows, like you’d do with cocoa. It adds sweetness and changes the experience especially if you let the marshmallows melt for a bit into the coffee (or just nuke it for a few seconds). It was good!

Lunch

The kids had McDonaldsTM and usually I’d eat their leftover nuggets and fries (and there’s always leftovers because their parents stupidly get them each a cheeseburger and a nugget meal). Today, it was easier to resist because I can’t eat the meat and I’m not about to waste calories on cold fries 🙂 Instead, I had a TexMex Veggie burger that I got from TJs yesterday.

Ingredients: Carrot, Onion, Stringbeans, Soybeans, Zucchini, Oat Bran, Peas, Spinach, Expeller Pressed Canola Oil, Broccoli, Textured Soy Flour, Corn, Oat Fiber, Red Pepper, Arrowroot, Corn Meal, Corn Starch, Garlic, Salt, Parsley, Black Pepper, All Natural Vegetable Gum

It brought back a bunch of memories too, of my first nanny job. The kids were obsessed with veggie burgers so we’d have fun picnics outside complete with burgers, crunchy veggies and a wading pool and sprinkler to play with afterward! You can see the veggies in the burger, it’s not colored brown trying to resemble something else and it’s not over ground so there’s a good texture to it.

1 burger patty, 1 Pepperidge Farm onion roll, 1 slice American cheese, 67 g tomato, 16 g clover sprouts, .5 T each ketchup & light mayo, a quick spritz of Olive Oil spray (for cooking burger), 75 g radishes, 1 T kosher salt (not pictured)

This particular burger had some excellent flavors that I haven’t had in a burger before. The combo was ‘on point’! It was super flavorful and the best burger I’ve ever had… that’s right, the best!!

85 kcal, 15g fat, 17g protein, 8g fiber

My burger was both hearty and delicious. I’m thinking of going to the grocery store tomorrow because I was also forced to have it on a toasted white bun (well it was an onion roll but still white flour). We just didn’t have the right ingredients today! I had the radishes dipped in kosher salt to replace the saltiness of french fries 🙂 I’m on the fence with them. They actual radish is fresh and flavorful and wonderful… I think I just added too much salt… and I don’t think it needed it in the first place. The burger ended up falling apart but each part was delicious so it’s okay 🙂 Okay, I just noticed that the box of veggie burgers has a picture of radishes with the burger. Strange. Well, at least I think they are dishes. 😛 I even had it on a plate that’s just like the one my parents used to have!

Dinner

One of my favorite things is barbecue. I don’t even particularly like barbecue sauce but on occasion, it and all that goes with BBQ (friends, family, and mayo) are just necessary to life. So, I looked around for a vegetarian BBQ recipe. I found this recipe and luckily I got tempeh yesterday too.

4 oz. BBQ sauce, 2 oz. tempeh, 79 g mushrooms, 79 g celery, 79 g onions (coincidence I swear)

I didn’t have any peppers so I decided to use mushrooms and celery instead. I used the celery because it wouldn’t affect the flavor but would provide a chew similar to the peppers to the dish, and mushrooms because they’d add to the flavor and up the heartiness of the meal. So, I used olive oil spray (love it!) and cooked up the shrooms, then added the celery, then the marinated tempeh and BBQ sauce.

Yummy veggies!
All together with some lovely steam!

334 kcal, 5 g fat, 14 g protein, 12 g fiber

All on another toasted bun (ew, I mean they’re just not good, well not good for you). It is there underneath all that BBQ deliciousness. I added a small side salad of field greens (1 oz) and steamed beats (40 g), it was perfect. There was no mayo but my mother puts beets in her potato salad so they did their memorial job 🙂 I didn’t use dressing because beets are so flavorful and sweet they really should be the highlight of a dish and there was BBQ sauce overflowing onto the salad anyway. It was quite tasty! Of course my trusty water bottle made an appearance as well! I ate the ‘sandwich’ open and with a knife and fork so I was forced to slow down and I’m sure it was more filling that way as well.

The problem was despite my tricks toward fullness, I still had a bit of an empty feeling after finishing. I figured that I must be thirsty so I just drank more water which definitely did the trick.

I think I like tempeh. Granted the flavor was kind of masked in sauce but the pieces that I tried were exceptionally good. Still, I’m not sure I’m ready for the flavor on its own but I’m working my way there!

Snacks

5 kcal

At first, I hated it, but I kept sipping it and the part that I disliked (the carbonation) mellowed out and the part that I like (the green tea) peeked out a bit more. I ended up finishing it but I’m not quite sure why I bothered. I won’t be purchasing it again. Even though now I have two cans left that I need to get rid of 🙂

Post-workout (30 minutes elliptical, 30 minutes upper/core weights) I needed a boost.

300 kcal, 16 g fat, 9 g protein, 7 g fiber

Mmm, I’m loving cashew butter. Delicious, especially on a Honey Wheat English Muffin with a beautiful postcard from one of my dearest friends (thanks Esssss) and the new issue of Allure 🙂

Last, I needed protein and knew that some Fage would do the trick.

106 kcal, 2 g fat, 7 g protein, 4.5 g fiber

Mmm, with half a Fiber One bar… chocolately, chewy, and that extra special flavor from Greek yogurt. A lovely way to end the day 🙂

In total~ 1550 kcal, 48 g fat, 60 g protein (yay! just made it!), and 44 g fiber (wowza).

I’m loving this lifestyle, but not all the dishes I have to wash 🙂 It was easier when I just ate ham sandwiches. Oh well, it’s worth it!

Night night!

